Irene-marié Esser & Piet Delport

Irene-marié Esser
Irene-marié Esser is a Professor of Corporate Law and Governance and Deputy-Director of Postgraduate Teaching at the University of Glasgow. Her research spans doctrinal and empirical approaches, covering the UK, EU and South Africa in the field of corporate governance, company law and corporate social responsibility. She also served as a Professor Extraordinarius at the University of South Africa (UNISA) and was, until 2017, a Visiting Professor at the Open University, UK. Since 2020 she is an Extraordinary Professor at Stellenbosch University, South Africa. She has been in academia for more than 15 years and was admitted as an Attorney of the High Court of South Africa in 2005. She is on the editorial board of the European Business Law Review and has been the Company Law Convenor of the UK Society of Legal Scholars for the past 3 years.

Piet Delport
Piet Delport (LLB, LLD (Pret), H DipTax Law (Wits)) was a professor in Mercantile Law at the University of Pretoria, South Africa where he taught company law and securities law at post-graduate level. He developed and taught an LLM in Corporate Law that was rated the best in South Africa and in the top 100 in the world for many years. He was co-author and author of seven text books on corporate law and is editor and author of Henochsberg on the Companies Act 71 of 2008, a standard reference work on company law, and has published articles in academic journals on the subjects of corporate and securities law. He served on an advisory committee to the then Minister of Trade and Industry for 23 years and was the chair of the sub-committee on legal practices. He is currently a member of the Companies Tribunal in terms of the Companies Act 71 of 2008. He was chairman of a multi-billion Rand insurance company for five years and is currently a non-executive director. He was for five years also the vice-chairman of a multi-billion Rand medical scheme that is ranked number four in South Africa and is presently the chair of the Remuneration Committee.